By the Book: John 1:4-5

Today, I am continuing my lectio divina practice with the book of John. I’m trying a slightly different format for the reading of the Word (repeated instead of at the top), so I would love to hear from you about which was more beneficial for you. Today’s scripture comes from the NLT bible. 

Lectio Divina

1) Read the text slowly, without making any conscious decisions about it. 

In Him was life, and the life was the light of men. The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness has not overcome it. 

2) Meditate on what the text has for you as you read it a second time. 

In Him was life, and the life was the light of men. The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness has not overcome it

3. Pray to God about your thoughts as you read the text for the third and final time. Your understandings and your misunderstandings are both welcome. Is God calling you to action?

In Him was life, and the life was the light of men. The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness has not overcome it. 
4) Contemplate silently for a time, focusing on God’s love. 

My Meditation 

In God is Life, and that Life is a light in me, in all people. That light shines out into the dark world we live in. 

I am always wondering about the struggle between how broken the world is and the goodness of people, of myself. Part of my personal theological beliefs is that we are all broken (though I usually use stronger words), but this means that we, that I, can persevere. God has given us all that we need. 

The real question is: where are we to shine our lights? 

I’m still in my twenties and I have no idea what I will really be doing past the coming year while I complete my masters in Ireland. Am I called to Ireland? To Europe? To somewhere else entirely? To return home– different as that place looks from here? 

Perhaps you are reading this and are just as lost as me. I hope that you join me in praying for direction, for opportunities to carry the light. (Slight nod to The Road) 

Maybe you have it completely figured out (for now), which is great. I pray you can go out there and be a light to those who need it. 

We live in a broken world with broken people, but that doesn’t mean that the light within us doesn’t recognize the light in others, no matter if you want to call it “humanity” or “the spirit” or whatever. Regardless, this recognition is the starting point for us to look at each other with love and respect and hope for a better future that we can all work toward. 

Thank you for reading, I hope that this has been life giving for you, as it is for me. Let me know of the thoughts and feelings you had during your own meditation in the comments below. I would love to hear from you! 

This page is supported by my patrons on Patreon. If you want to support this work, please consider donating there. 

Patreon Executive Producer: Cindy Horn

Leave a Reply

